Wheat Growing Areas

Ontario Wheat Growing Regions

Ontario has 4 unique growing areas, separated geographically. There are also similarities in soil types in each of the 4 growing areas as well as heat units. Certain varieties work better on certain soil types and regions. Below is a map from the Ontario Cereal Crops Committee.   This map determines the Ontario growing regions as identified by their team of industry reps, researchers and growers. 

As always, each variety has its own unique fit.  Testing on your own farm, with your own management practices that suit your operation are always the preferred route.  The OCCC (Ontario Cereal Crops Committee) makes their best efforts at both mimicking grower management scenarios, as well as testing in pesticide free situations to best move the wheat industry forward.

Visit www.gocereals.ca for more information on Ontario wheat testing.  

Sign up for The Wheat News Plus